Skip to main content

What happens to a Tines API key when the user account that created it leaves the tenant?

Understand Tines API key behavior around user account statuses.

Written by Angie Ruhstorfer

When a user creates a Tines API key, there are several levels of access they can set during creation:

  • Tenant owner: Access to the entire tenant

  • Team: Role-based access to a specific team on the tenant

  • Service: Access to tenant permissions

  • Personal: A key tied to your identity and permissions

Note: The level of access the user can select at the time of the API key creation also depends on the user's permissions within the tenant/team:

Let's look at an example. We have a user named Jane Tino, who, within their tenant, is a tenant owner and also a team admin of "Team Automation". This would give Jane access to all four access levels mentioned above.

Within Team Automation, Jane creates Tines API keys for each level as credentials.

  • If Jane's account is active in the tenant, all four API keys will work as intended.

  • If Jane's account exists in the tenant but is deactivated, the Personal API key will break (returns a 401 status code), while the other three will still work as expected. If Jane's account is re-activated, the Personal API key will continue working again.

  • If Jane's account is completely deleted from the tenant, the Personal API key will break (returns a 401 status code), while the other three will still work as expected.

  • If Jane is reinvited back to the tenant, the Personal API key will not work (returns a 401 status code), while the other three will still work as expected.

In summary, when a user is deactivated or removed entirely from the tenant, the only API key that stops working is their Personal API key. Even if they are re-invited to the tenant, the Personal API key from before will still not work.

Did this answer your question?